Intellicus Enterprise Reporting and Business Insights 19.0

Manage Categories and Reports

0 views June 28, 2020 0

Reports and other objects (like Query and Parameters) are stored in categories.  Categories are stored in repository as hierarchical structure.  On Manage Categories and Reports page, you can create a category, modify category details, change a category name and delete a category.

Standard reports are designed using Desktop studio.  On this page, you can deploy standard reports, delete a deployed report as well as download an already deployed report (to modify it).  You can also copy or move a report to one or more categories.

When you update a report that is copied in multiple categories, you have to make sure you re-deploy the updated report in all those categories.  As a solution, you may deploy a report in a category and then copy it as “link” to multiple categories.

Categories

Intellicus supports multi-level (hierarchical) category structure.  For better management, user can group desired reports and other objects in one category.

Every category has a Category Menu Name which uniquely identifies the category at that level in the hierarchy.  Name will be displayed in all the dialogs and pages where category name is displayed.  Category ID should be unique across all the categories.  By default, it is auto-generated by Intellicus. If you wish to specify the Category ID manually, uncheck System Generated checkbox.

A Public category is (and the objects in that category are) available to all the users.  A Private category is available only to the owner.  So, objects stored in a private category will be available only to the owner.

To create a Public category, you need to login into the application using Super Administrator ID, Administrator ID or using the ID that has Category Setup rights.

Check Hidden checkbox, if you do not want to display this category in any of the dialogs and pages (except Manage Folders and Reports page).  This will stop users from directly accessing the objects and reports stored in it.  For example, reports that are used as sub-reports and executed from within a report.

To create a category
  1. After navigating to the desired folder, click add icon button.
  2. Provide required details and click Save button.
To change a category information

Once set, Category ID and scope (Public / Private options) cannot be changed.

Application allows to change Category Menu Name and Hidden property of the selected category.  To be able to make changes in category information, you need to be owner of the category, user having Category Setup rights, Super Administrator or Administrator.

To delete a category

You can delete a category only if it is empty.  To delete a category including its contents, check Delete Cascade checkbox.

Click delete icon to delete the selected category.

Note: When you delete a Category that is not empty, and Delete Cascade check box is clear, a message “Failed to delete the category” will appear on top left of the page.

Reports

Use this page to carryout following report related operations:

  • Deploy a report
  • Copy, Move, or Copy-link a report
  • Change details of deployed report
  • Delete a report or a linked report

Click the object selector, navigate to the desired folder and select a report. When you navigate to a folder and click a report listed there, name and other properties of the selected report will be displayed.

You can browse a Report File to select an existing IRL file to create a report.

A report has a Report Name (unique across the category) and a Report ID (unique across the repository).  Report Name is visible in all the dialogs and pages where the report is listed.  When you deploy the report, application by default generates a unique Report ID.  To specify it manually,  uncheck System Generated checkbox.

Content provided in the Description is displayed at all the places where the report name is listed.

A Public report is available to all the users.  A Private report is available only to the owner.  To deploy a report as Public, you need to login into the application using Super Administrator ID, Administrator ID or using the ID that has Category Setup rights.

Check Hidden checkbox when you don’t want users to access it directly.   A hidden report is not listed in any of the dialogs and pages (except Manage Folders and Reports page).  Mark a report as hidden when you don’t want users to access it directly.  For example, a report that is used as sub-report and executed from within a report.

Text in Design Mode indicates if the report was designed using Studio (Web Studio or Desktop Studio) or Ad hoc Report Wizard.

Defaults

These are the default values for Database connection, Report Output and Printer Setting for the selected report.  If at the time of report generation, user does not specify these, then

  • Report will run on the Database Connection selected on this page,
  • in the Output Format selected on this page and
  • if chosen to Print Direct, will use the Printer Setting selected here.

If you are Super Administrator, you can set following for a report:

  • Deployment Type: A report deployed as Read Only can not be modified and uploaded with same name.  A report deployed as Custom can be modified and uploaded with the same name.  For end-user, Deployment Type is pre-set as Custom.

  • Approval Process: Select an approval process to be followed while publishing a report.  As a part of it, report needs to be approved before it can be published.  To publish report without undergoing approval process, select Direct.

  • Assign Users: To assign users with the workflow process associated with all the reports deployed in this folder.

Administrators can also set advanced properties for the report.  To know about Advanced Properties, click Advanced button.

To deploy a report

Use this page to locate a report from local or network machine and deploy it in the repository.

After navigating to the desired folder, click Browse button to locate and select the report to be deployed.  Provide required details and click Save button.

Approval Process details

Assign Users button

When you click this button a dialog box opens.  Users / Roles are selected as Approver / commenter on this dialog.

Detach button

Click Detach button when you want to take the report out of approval process.

When you are taking this report out of the approval process, it may have report outputs which are pending for approvals.  On Action on pending report outputs dialog box, select Approve to approve and publish all the pending outputs, select Reject to reject all the pending outputs and click OK.  Approved outputs will be published and made available to users.

To Copy – Paste a report

Select the report and click the copy icon button.  Navigate to the category where you want to paste the report and click the paste icon button.  Click Save button.

To Cut – Paste a report

Select the report and click cut icon button.  Open the category where you want to paste the report and click pastecut icon button.  Click Save button.

To Copy link a report

You can copy link of a report to the same category or another category.  When you copy a link, only reference of the report is copied.   So, if original report is updated, it will be accessible from all the links pointing to that report.

Select the report and click copylinkicon button.  Open the category where you want to paste the report and click pastelinkicon button.  Click Save button.

To delete a deployed report or a link

Select the report / report link and click delete button.  A confirm delete dialog appears.  Click OK to proceed with the confirmation.

When you delete a report, it will not be available for execution.  It will be removed from all of the open dialog boxes where reports are listed.  Schedules having the deleted report will fail to execute.  Reports that have the deleted report as sub-report, will fail to execute.

When you delete a link, it will be removed from all of the pages and dialogs where reports are listed.

To Download a report

You may need to download a report to make changes in it and upload it back to the server with a different name.

Select the report and click downloadbutton.

To de-link a linked report
  1. Select the linked report and click delink button.
  2. In Delink Confirmation dialog, select the desired option and click Set.
  3. Click Save button to save the changes.

Options on Delink Confirmation dialog

  • Copy Layout from Source Report: To make the selected report, exact copy of the original (linked) report.
  • Keep Original Layout: If this report is an independent report (configured internally as a linked report), click this option to just mark it as delinked.