When you publish a report, its output is generated and saved which can be opened and viewed in the future. Next time you open the output, you get a faster response because time taken in generating the report is saved.
You can view a published report output from All Published screen as well as from Report List screen for the selected category.
Figure 10: Publishing a report
In Save In, click to open object selector and navigate to the folder in which you want to save the report. Object Selector’s features like multiple views, filtering and sorting makes it easier and quicker to find the desired folder.
Though not mandatory, it is always good to specify a unique Report Name for the published report.
Depending on the selected output type, you can select Options for the report. For example, to zip the file before publishing, ignoring page breaks, options specific to CSV or MS Excel output, etc.
You can keep the published report output accessible to yourself (select Private) or make it available for all (select Public).
If the report-data will not be valid forever, application can delete the published report on date and time you specify. In Expires on, set date and time after which the report should be deleted. If the report is valid forever or you would delete it manually, keep Expires on blank.
Important: A published report is stored on Report Server. It is recommended that you specify an expiry date for the published report. Deletion of the expired reports will free up the server space.
An expired report cannot be retrieved back. You may backup the reports to keep the output. This will make sure you have the data with you at the same time server space doesn’t not remain occupied for a report output.
You can publish a report in any of the available Report formats. Publishing a report in desired format will save time (of selecting report format) when it is viewed. Even if you publish the report in a selected format, you can view it in other formats, if needed. Select an output format from Report Format dropdown.
Note: A report published in RAW TEXT will not be available for view in any of the other formats.
To publish the report and view the result (like success or failure), click PUBLISH NOW. You will be redirected to Report Status screen, which will display the status message. Click PUBLISH IN BACKGROUND to start the process and continue working with the application without having to wait till the operation is complete. The operation will continue in background and you will be redirected to Report Execution Status screen. It displays execution status of all the reports executed in background.
Important: When a report is published, its output is stored on Intellicus Report Server. When a published report is requested from Published reports list, the respective output is displayed.
When reports associated with workflow (approval process) are published, they are available to you on Saved Reports List screen, if you are an approver. If you are not an approver, the reports are available to you on the Saved Reports List screen only after they are approved by an approver.